National Medal of Honor Day

Today is National Medal of Honor Day. The Medal of Honor was created by an act of Congress in 1861. The first Act created an award for the Navy; one for the Army soon followed. Over 3,450 Medals have been awarded. It is our nation’s highest military award for valor. As of today, there are only 98 living Medal of Honor recipients.

Among the recipients of the Medal are Theodore Roosevelt, Douglas MacArthur and Charles Lindbergh. Only five Soldiers from Operation Iraqi Freedom or Operation Enduring Freedom have received the Medal. They are SFC Paul Ray Smith, Corporal Jason Dunham, Lt. Michael Murphy, MA2 Michael Monsoor and SPC Ross McGinnis.
Each of these latter five recipients lost their life during the action for which they were awarded the Medal. At our last conference comrades of these brave men shared their stories. The videos are available on our YouTube Channel.

Visit the Congressional Medal of Honor Society’s website.

Explore posts in the same categories: Operation Enduring Freedom, Operation Iraqi Freedom, WWII


You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: