Quote of the Day

“My commander when he told me that he was writing me up for the Medal of Honor. After a little bit of talk and one thing and another, he wrapped it up with saying, “Let me tell you something, keep it in mind: When you get it, forget it.” What he meant by… “When you get it, forget it.” Continue being a good Marine. Continue doing today’s work and what needs to be tomorrow. Don’t ride on the awards of what you did in the past. I found that good advice. I continued for another, what ’71 to ’93, another 20 years in the Marines having received the Medal of Honor, but I didn’t wave it around, “Look what I have!” It is just recognition for what you did on one occasion. Can you do that tomorrow? That is what we want you to do tomorrow. Forget about yesterday!”

-Col. Wesley Fox in reference to the meaning of the Medal of Honor at the American Veterans Center’s 2008 conference. Col. Fox earned the Medal while serving in Vietnam.

Explore posts in the same categories: Quotes, Vietnam

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

