Quote of the Day

“Good morning! I am Diane Layfield, Gold Star mother. I lost my son Lance Corporal Travis Layfield on April 6, 2004 in Iraq. I am here today in Washington, DC. I am being honored in the National Parade this Memorial Day weekend. I am very proud to be here in honor of my son. I am now his voice…. I am also with a program called Stories of the Fallen, which has done a small documentary of my son’s life; and it’s on the YouTube. I am very proud to be a part of that and to make sure that his legacy is never forgotten. It’s a great program, and we always want them to be remembered. Memorial Day has a special meaning to us now for those that have lost a loved one or to our loved ones that are serving. So we want to make sure that we represent them and be part of their history as life goes on. I’d also like to give a shout out to all of our military serving overseas and let them know that they are loved and missed at home and we are so proud of them. God bless America!”

-Diane Layfield, Gold Star mother, on the Pentagon Channel at the National Memorial Day Parade in Washington, DC, which is sponsored by the American Veterans Center.

Explore posts in the same categories: Memorial Day Parade, Operation Iraqi Freedom, Quotes

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

